Frederick Steeplechasers Running Club Annual Banquet Club Business January 19, 2019

95 members of the Steeplechasers and their guests were in attendance.

For details, see: 2019 Banquet Check-in List.docx

The meeting was called to order at 6:32 pm.

Grand Master Runner of the Year - Marti Grib Kachman

Grand Master Runner of the Year award was presented to Michelle Mitchell early in the program due to the presenter having a secondary engagement to attend.

Dinner

The remainder of the business meeting commenced at 7:42 pm.

President's Report - Jill Cameron

Opening remarks can be found in: Welcome and Closing Remarks

2018 Highlights:

- Membership hit an all-time high! (Over 1000 members in 2018). (Paige Baierl was member #1000)
- FSRC donated \$62,395 to charitable causes including The Student Homeless Initiative Partnership, Blessings in a Backpack, The Women's Giving Circle and the FSRC Scholarship Fund.
- FSRC had 1,790 participants at its signature races Market Street Mile, Rick's Run, Summer Solstice and the Frederick Women's Distance Festival.
- FSRC hosted its first coed 5k training program with Robert Hall as the lead coach.
- FSRC added a new low-key trail race, the Lil' B 5k-ish.
- The Spires Youth program held their inaugural cross-country meet in the fall. Trevor James is working hard to raise participation and encourage the youth.
- The FSRC JFK Mile 19 Aid Station won "Best Aid Station" award for the 3rd year in a row.
- FSRC had 436 members step up to volunteer.
- The FSRC racing team added new runners and represented us throughout the year.
- FSRC scholarship program awarded four scholarships to local high school seniors.

Board Nominations – Mark Lawrence

Mark recognized current board for their work over the past two years: Jill Cameron, Eric Cameron, Harriet Langlois, Nicole Davis.

Executive Board:

President

- Mark Lawrence took nominations for the position of President.
- Kerry McHugh nominated Robert Hall.
- Pamela Geernaert seconded the nomination.
- There were no other nominations from the floor.
- The vote was unanimous to elect Robert Hall to the position of President.

Vice President

- Mark Lawrence took nominations for the position of Vice President.
- Peggy Waxter nominated Josh Roane.
- Pamela Geernaert seconded the nomination.
- There were no other nominations from the floor.
- The vote was unanimous to elect Josh Roane to the position of Vice President.

Secretary

- Mark Lawrence took nominations for the position of Secretary.
- Katie Warehime nominated Heidi Novak.
- Pamela Geernaert seconded the nomination.
- There were no other nominations from the floor.
- The vote was unanimous to elect Heidi Novak to the position of Secretary.

Treasurer

- Mark Lawrence took nominations for the position of Secretary.
- Pamela Geernaert nominated Crystal Tressler.
- Sophie Geernaert seconded the nomination.
- There were no other nominations from the floor.
- The vote was unanimous to elect Crystal Tressler to the position of Secretary.

Confirmation of Board of Directors:

The vote was unanimous to confirm Tim O'Keefe, Pamela Geernaert, Lou King, Jill Cameron, Mark Lawrence, Brent Ayer (not present), and John Stuart (not present) to the Board of Directors.

2018 Awards - Shannon Matthews, Ruth Taylor, et al

Major award recipients were recognized – Grand Prix, Trail Series, Equalizer, Rising Star, Most Improved, Iron Woman, Iron Man, Unsung Hero, Inspiration, Junior Runner of the Year, Grand Masters Runner of the Year, Masters Runner of the Year, Runner of the Year, Waxter

Award recipients can be found at: <u>Award Winners 2019</u>

President's Award - Jill Cameron

Jill Cameron presented the President's Award to David Shafer for the contributions he has made to the running community at large.

Jill Cameron's remarks can be found at: President's Award

Closing Remarks – Jill Cameron

Opening remarks can be found in: Welcome and Closing Remarks

Adjournment - Jill Cameron

The meeting was adjourned at 8:33 PM.

Recorded by: Nicole Davis, Secretary